California Regulations Related to Patient-level Data Reporting

Selected California regulations requiring health facilities to report patient-level data to the California Department of Health Care Access and Information are listed below.

To see the official version of the California Code of Regulations, visit the Westlaw web site at: <u>https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/</u>.

California Code of Regulations Title 22. Social Security Division 7. Health Planning and Facility Construction Chapter 1. Health Planning and Resources Development Article 5. Certificate of Need

90417. Special Fees.

(a) Health Facilities, except those exempt by law and long-term care facilities (as defined by Section 97005(d), California Code of Regulations), shall be charged a special fee as follows:

(1) For the last fiscal year ending on or before June 30, of the preceding calendar year the fee shall be 0.027 percent of the gross operating cost for the provision of health care services as determined by the Department.

(b) Long-term care facilities (as defined by Section 97005(d), California Code of Regulations), except those exempt by law, shall be charged a special fee as follows:

(1) For the last fiscal year ending on or before June 30, of the preceding calendar year, the fee shall be 0.025 percent of the gross operating cost for the provision of health care services as determined by the Department.

(c) Freestanding ambulatory surgery clinics as defined in Health and Safety Code 128700(d) shall be charged a special fee that shall be established at an amount equal to the number of ambulatory surgery data records submitted to the Department pursuant to Section 128737 for encounters in the preceding calendar year multiplied by fifty cents (\$.50).

Note: Authority cited: Sections 127150, 127280, 128700 and 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 127280 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

California Code of Regulations Title 22. Social Security Division 7. Health Planning and Facility Construction Chapter 10. Health Facility Data Article 1. General

<u>97007.</u> Notice of Change in Health Facility Fiscal Year, Licensure, Name, Address, or Closure.

(a) Each license of a health facility shall notify the Office in writing whenever the health facility fiscal year is changed. Notification shall be made within 30 days of such action by the health facility. The notice shall include the health facility name, street address, and both old and new fiscal year ending dates.

(b) Each licensee of a health facility shall notify the Office in writing within 30 days of the effective date of any change of licensee of the health facility. Such notice shall include the following, as applicable: the old and new names of the health facility, the names of the former and new licensees, permanent or forwarding street and mailing addresses of the former and new licensees, old and new telephone numbers of the health facility, the telephone number of the former licensee if available to the new licensee, the telephone number of the names of the owners having a five percent or more interest in the health facility, the names of the chair and members of the governing body, and the name of the individual in charge of the day-to-day operation of the health facility.

(c) Each licensee of a health facility shall notify the Office in writing within 30 days of any change in the name, or telephone number. or street and mailing addresses of the health facility. Such notice shall include the old and new names of the health facility and/or the old and new street and mailing addresses of the health facility, and old and new telephone numbers.

(d) Each licensee of a health facility shall notify the Office in writing within 30 days of any change in the owners having a five percent or more interest in the health facility, in the chair and members of the governing body, and in the individual in charge of the day-to-day operation of the health facility.

(e) Each licensee of a health facility shall notify the Office in writing within 30 days of the facility's closure. Such notice shall include the last date patient care was provided, the final date of licensure, the street and mailing address of the health facility, the permanent or forwarding mailing address of the health facility licensee, the telephone number of the health facility licensee.

(f) Each licensee of a hospital shall notify the Office in writing within 30 days of the date the license is placed in suspense. Such notice shall include the last date patient care was provided, the date the license was placed in suspense, the street and mailing address of the health facility, the permanent or forwarding mailing address of the health facility licensee, and the telephone number of the health facility licensee.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 127280, 128735, 128740, 128755 and 128760, Health and Safety Code.

California Code of Regulations Title 22. Social Security Division 7. Health Planning and Facility Construction Chapter 10. Health Facility Data Article 4. Modification, Extension, and Appeal Processes

97052. Appeal Procedure.

(a) Any health facility affected by any determination made under the Act by the Office may appeal the decision. This appeal shall be filed with the Office within 15 business days after the date the notice of the decision is received by the health facility and shall specifically describe the matters which are disputed by the petitioner.

(b) A hearing on an appeal shall, at the discretion of the Director, be held before either of the following:

(1) An employee of the Office appointed by the Director to act as hearing officer.

(2) A hearing officer employed by the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128775, Health and Safety Code.

97053. Conduct of Hearing.

(a) The hearing, when conducted by an employee of the Office appointed by the Director to serve as hearing officer, shall not be conducted according to technical rules relating to evidence and witnesses. Any relevant evidence shall be admitted if it is the sort of evidence on which responsible persons are accustomed to rely in the conduct of serious affairs.

(b) When the hearing is conducted by an employee of the Office, the hearing shall be recorded by a tape recording, unless the appellant agrees to provide a certified shorthand reporter at the appellant's expense. If the appellant provides a certified shorthand reporter, the original of the transcript shall be provided directly to the Office.

(c) A copy of the tape recording or of the transcript, if made, shall be available to any person so requesting who has deposited with the Office an amount of money which the Director has determined to be sufficient to cover the costs of the copy of the tape recording or transcript.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128775, Health and Safety Code.

97054. Decision on Appeal.

(a) The employee or hearing officer shall prepare a recommended decision which includes findings of fact and conclusions of law.

(b) This proposed decision shall be presented to the Office for its consideration.

(c) The Office may adopt the proposed decision, or reject it and decide the matter as described in paragraph 1 below.

(1) If the Office does not adopt the proposed decision as presented, it will furnish a Notice of Rejection of Proposed Decision along with a copy of the proposed decision to appellant and, if applicable, appellant's authorized representative. The Office will provide appellant the opportunity to present written arguments to the Office. The decision of the Office will be based on the record, including the hearing record, and such additional information as is provided by the appellant.

(d) The decision of the Office shall be in writing. It shall be made within 60 calendar days after the conclusion of the hearing and shall be final.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128775, Health and Safety Code.

California Code of Regulations Title 22. Social Security Division 7. Health Planning and Facility Construction Chapter 10. Health Facility Data Article 5. Collection of Special Fees

97063. Basis of Assessment.

The basis of assessment is the total gross operating expenses obtained from the disclosure reports filed for the report period which ended on or before June 30 of the previous calendar year, as more particularly described in Section 97005(h).

Note: Authority cited: Sections 127150 and 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 127280, Health and Safety Code.

California Code of Regulations Title 22. Social Security Division 7. Health Planning and Facility Construction Chapter 10. Health Facility Data Article 8. Patient Data Reporting Requirements

<u>97210.</u> Contact Person, User Account Administrator, and Facility Identification Number.

(a) Each reporting facility shall designate a primary contact and shall notify the Department's Patient Data Program in writing, by electronic mail or through the Department's online submission system of the designed person's name, title, telephone number(s), mailing address, and electronic mail address. The designated person will be sent time-sensitive electronic mail regarding the facility's data submission, including reminder notices, acceptance and rejection notifications, and extension information. (b) Each reporting facility shall notify the Department's Patient Data Program in writing, by electronic mail, or through the Department's online submission system within 15 days after any change in the person designated as the primary contact person, or in the designated primary person's name, title, telephone number(s), mailing address or electronic mail address.

(c) Each reporting facility beginning or resuming operations, whether in a newly constructed facility or in an existing facility, shall notify the Department's Patient Data Program in writing, by electronic mail or through the Department's online submission system within 30 days after its first day of operation of the designated primary contact person and the facility administrator.

(d) Each reporting facility shall designated User Account Administrators pursuant to Subsection (d) of Section 97246. Each reporting facility shall notify the Department's Patient Data Program in writing, by electronic mail or through the Office's online submission system within 15 days after any change in a designated user account administrator's name, title, telephone number(s), mailing address, or electronic mail address.

(e) Each reporting facility may submit its own data report to the Department's Patient Data Program, or it may designate an agent for this purpose. The reporting facility shall be responsible for ensuring compliance with regulations and reporting requirements when an agent is designated pursuant to Subsection (b) of Section 97246.

(f) Each reporting facility shall be provided a facility identification number that shall be used to submit data to the Department.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128700, 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

97211. Reporting Periods and Due Dates.

(a) The prescribed reporting periods are:

(1) Calendar semiannual for Hospital Discharge Abstract Data reports, which means that there are two reporting periods each year, consisting of discharges occurring January 1 through June 30 and discharges occurring July 1 through December 31.

(2) Calendar quarterly for Emergency Care Data reports, which means there are four reporting periods each year, consisting of encounters occurring January 1 through March 31, encounters occurring April 1 through June 30, encounters occurring July 1 through September 30, and encounters occurring October 1 through December 31.

(3) Calendar quarterly for Ambulatory Surgery Data reports, form a hospital or from a freestanding ambulatory surgery clinic, which means there are four reporting periods each year, consisting of encounters occurring January 1 through March 31, encounters occurring April 1 through June 30, encounters occurring July 1 through September 30, and encounters occurring October 1 through December 31.

(b) Where there has been a change in licensee, the effective data of the change shall constitute the start of the reporting period for the new licensee. The end of the first reporting period for the

new licensee shall be the end of the prescribed reporting period. The final day of the reporting period for the previous licensee shall be the last day their licensure was effective.

(c) Report due dates:

(1) For Hospital Discharge Abstract Data reports, for discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2003, and all subsequent report periods, the report due date shall be three months after the end of each reporting period; thus the due date for the January 1 through June 30 reports is September 30 of the same year and the due date for the July 1 through December 31 reports is March 31 of the following year.

(2) For Emergency Care Data reports, for encounters occurring on or after October 1, 2004, and all subsequent report periods, the report due date shall be 45 days after the end of each reporting period; thus the due date for the January 1 through March 31 reports is May 15 of the same year, the due date for the April through June 30 reports is August 14 of the same year, the due date for the July 1 through September 30 reports is November 14 of the same year, and the due date for the October 1 through December 31 reports is February 14 of the following year.

(3) For Ambulatory Surgery Data reports, for encounters occurring on or after October 1, 2004, and all subsequent report periods, the report due date shall be 45 days after the end of each reporting period; thus the due date for the January 1 through March 31 reports is May 15 of the same year, the due date for the April 1 through June 30 reports is August 14 of the same year, the due date for the July 1 through September 30 reports is November 14 of the same year, and the due date for October 1 through December 31 reports is February 14 of the following year.

(d) Data reports shall be filed, as defined by Subsection (j) of Section 97005, by the date the data report is due. Where a reporting facility has been granted an extension, pursuant to Section 97241, the ending date of the extension shall constitute the new due date for that data report.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97212.</u> Definitions, as Used in This Article.

(a) Ambulatory Surgery (AS) Data Record. The Ambulatory Surgery Data Record consists of the set of data elements related to an encounter, as specified in Subsection (a) of Section 128737 of the Health and Safety Code and as defined in Sections 97251-97265 and 97267-97268 of the California Code of Regulations.

(b) CPT-4. The Current Procedural Terminology, 4th Edition, is published and maintained by the American Medical Association. It is a standard medical code set for healthcare services and procedures in non-inpatient settings.

(c) Day. Days, as used in this article, are defined as calendar days unless otherwise specified.

(d) Discharge. A discharge is defined as an inpatient who:

(1) is formally released from the care of the hospital and leaves the hospital, or

(2) is transferred within the hospital from one type of care to another type of care, as defined by Subsection (w) of Section 97212, or

(3) leaves the hospital against medical advice, without a physician's order or is a psychiatric patient who is discharged as away without leave (AWOL), or

(4) has died.

(e) Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) Order. A DNR order is a directive from a physician in a patient's current inpatient medical record instructing that the patient is not to be resuscitated in the event of a cardiac or pulmonary arrest. In the event of a cardiac or pulmonary arrest, resuscitative measures include, but are not limited to, the following: cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), intubation, defibrillation, cardioactive drugs, or assisted ventilation.

(f) Emergency Care Data Record. The Emergency Care Data Record consists of the set of data elements related to an encounter, as specified in Subsection (a) of Section 128736 of the Health and Safety Code and as defined in Sections 97251-97265 and 97267-97268.

(g) Emergency Department (ED). Emergency Department means, in a hospital licensed to provide emergency medical services, the location in which those services are provided, as specified in Subsection (b) of Section 128700 of the Health and Safety Code. For the purposes of this chapter, this includes emergency departments providing standby, basic, or comprehensive services.

(h) Encounter. An encounter is face-to-face contact between an outpatient and a provider.

(i) Error. Error means any record found to have an invalid entry to contain incomplete data or to contain illogical data.

(j) Facility Identification Number. A unique six-digit number that is assigned to each facility and shall be used to identify the facility.

(k) Freestanding Ambulatory Surgery Clinic. Freestanding ambulatory surgery clinic means a surgical clinic that is licensed by the state under paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 128735 of the Health and Safety Code. This type of facility is commonly known as a freestanding ambulatory surgery center.

(I) Hospital Discharge Abstract Data Record. The Hospital Discharge Abstract Data Record consists of the set of data elements related to a discharge, as specified in Subsection (g) of Section 128735 of the Health and Safety Code and as defined by Sections 97216-97234 for Inpatients.

(m)(1) ICD-10-CM. The International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Coding guidelines and annual revisions to ICD-10-CM are made nationally by the "Cooperating Parties"

(the American Hospital Association, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the National Center for Health Statistics, and the American Health Information Management Association).

(2) ICD-10-PCS. The International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Procedure Coding System, published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Coding guidelines and annual revisions to ICD-10-PCS are made nationally by the "Cooperating Parties" (the American Hospital Association, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the National Center for Health Statistics, and the American Health Information Management Association).

(n) Inpatient. An inpatient is defined as a baby born alive in this hospital or a person who was formally admitted to the hospital with the expectation of remaining overnight or longer.

(o) Licensee. Licensee means an entity that has been issued a license to operate a facility as defined by Subsection (d) or (f) of Section 128700 of the Health and Safety Code.

(p) MS-DRG. Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups is a classification scheme with which to categorize inpatients according to clinical coherence and expected resource intensity, as indicated by their diagnoses, procedures, sex, and disposition. It was established and is revised annually by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

(q) Outpatient. An outpatient means:

(1) a person who has been registered or accepted for care but not formally admitted as an inpatient and who does not remain over 24 hours, as specified in Subsection (a)(2) of Section 70053 of Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations, or

(2) a patient at a freestanding ambulatory surgery clinic who has been registered and accepted for care.

(r) Provider. A provider is the person who has primary responsibility for assessing and treating the condition of the patient at a given contact and exercises independent judgement in the care of the patient. This would include, but is not limited to, a practitioner licensed as a Medical Doctor (M.D.), a Doctor of Osteopathy, (D.O.), a Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S), or a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.).

(s) Record. A record is defined as the set of data elements specified in Subsection (g) of Section 128735, Subsection (a) of Section 128736, or Subsection (a) of Section 128737 of the Health and Safety Code, for one discharge or for one encounter.

(t) Report. A report is defined as the collection of all Hospital Discharge Abstract Data Records, or all Emergency Care Data Reports, or all Ambulatory Surgery Data Records required to be submitted by a reporting facility for one reporting period. A report contains only one type of record.

(u) Reporting Facility. Reporting facility means a hospital or a freestanding ambulatory surgery clinic required to submit data records, as specified in Subsection (g) of Section 128735, or Subsection (a) of Section 128736, or Subsection (a) of Section 128737 of the Health and Safety Code.

(v) SIERA. SIERA means the Department's System for Integrated Electronic Reporting and Auditing that is secure online transmission system through which reports are submitted and corrected, and report extension requests are submitted using an internet web browser. SIERA is available on the Department's internet web site at https://siera.oshpd.ca.gov.

(w) Type of Care. Type of care in hospitals is defined as one of the following:

(1) Skilled nursing/intermediate care. Skilled nursing/intermediate care means inpatient care that is provided to inpatients occupying beds appearing on a hospital's license in the classifications of skilled nursing or intermediate care, as defined by paragraphs (2), (3), or (4) of Subdivision (a) of Section 1250.1 of the Health and Safety Code. Skilled nursing/intermediate care also means inpatient care that is provided to inpatients occupying general acute care beds that are being used to provide skilled nursing/intermediate care to those inpatients in an approved swing bed program.

(2) Physical rehabilitation care. Physical rehabilitation care means inpatient care that is provided to inpatients occupying beds included on a hospital's license within the general acute care classification, as defined by paragraph (1) of Subdivision (a) of Section 1250.1 of the Health and Safety Code, and designated as rehabilitation center beds, as defined by Subsection (a) of Section 70034 and by Section 70595 of Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations.

(3) Psychiatric care. Psychiatric care means inpatient care that is provided to inpatients occupying beds appearing on a hospital's license in the classification of acute psychiatric beds, as defined by paragraph (5) of Subdivision (a) Section 1250.1 of the Health and Safety Code, and psychiatric health facility, as defined by Subdivision (a) of Section 1250.2 of the Health and Safety Code.

(4) Chemical dependency recovery care. Chemical dependency recovery care means inpatient care that is provided to inpatients occupying beds appearing on a hospital's license as chemical dependency recovery beds, as defined by paragraph (7) of Subdivision (a) of Section 1250.1 of the Health and Safety Code and Subdivisions (a), (c), or (d) of Section 1250.3 of the Health and Safety Code.

(5) Acute care. Acute care, as defined by paragraph (a) of Subdivision (a) of Section 1250.1 of the Health and Safety Code, means all other types of inpatient care provided to inpatients occupying all other types of licensed beds in a hospital, other than those defined by paragraphs (1), (2), (3) and (4) of Subsection (w) of this section.

(x) User Account Administrator. A healthcare facility representative responsible for designating users, which may include agents, and maintaining the facility's online submission system user accounts and user account contact information.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 1250, 1250.1, 128700, 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

97213. Required Reporting.

(a)(1) Hospital Discharge Abstract Data: Each hospital shall submit a hospital discharge abstract data record, as specified in Subdivision (g) of Section 128735 of the Health and Safety Code, for each inpatient discharged during the semiannual reporting period, according to the format specified in Subsection (a) of Section 97215 and by the dates specified in Subsection (c)(1) of Section 97211.

(2) Emergency Care Data: Each hospital shall submit an emergency care data record, as specified in Subsection (a) of Section 128736 of the Health and Safety Code, for each encounter during the quarterly reporting period, according to the format specified in Subsection (b) of Section 97215 and by the dates specified in Subsection (c)(2) of Section 97211. A hospital shall not report an Emergency Care Data Record if the encounter resulted in a samehospital admission.

(3) Ambulatory Surgery Data: Each hospital and freestanding ambulatory surgery clinic shall submit an ambulatory surgery data care record, as specified in Subsection (a) of Section 128737 of the Health and Safety Code, for each encounter during which at least one ambulatory surgery procedure is performed, during the quarterly reporting period, according to the format specified in Subsection (c) of Section 97215 and by the dates specified in Subsection (c)(3) of Section 97211. An ambulatory surgery procedure is defined by Subsection (a) of Section 128700 of the Health and Safety Code as those procedures performed on an outpatient basis in the general operating rooms, ambulatory surgery rooms, endoscopy units, or cardiac catheterization laboratories of a hospital or a freestanding ambulatory surgery clinic. A hospital shall not report an Ambulatory Surgery Data Record if the encounter resulted in a same-hospital admission.

(b) A hospital shall separately identify records of inpatients being discharged from the acute care type of care, as defined by paragraph (5) of Subsection (w) of Section 97212. The hospital shall identify these records by recording a "1" on each of these records as specified in the Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Inpatient Data in Section 97215.

(c) A hospital shall separately identify records of inpatients being discharged from the skilled nursing/intermediate care type of care, as defined by paragraph (1) of Subsection (w) of Section 97212. The hospital shall identify these records by recording a "3" on each of these records as specified in the Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Inpatient Data in Section 97215.

(d) A hospital shall separately identify records of inpatients being discharged from the psychiatric care type of care, as defined by paragraph (3) of Subsection (w) of Section 97212. The hospital shall identify these records by recording a "4" on each of these records as specified in the Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Inpatient Data in Section 97215.

(e) A hospital shall separately identify records of inpatients being discharged from the chemical dependency recovery care type of care, as defined by paragraph (4) of Subsection (w) of

Section 97212. The hospital shall identify these records by recording a "5" on each of these records as specified in the Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Inpatient Data in Section 97215.

(f) A hospital shall separately identify records of inpatients being discharged from the physical rehabilitation care type of care, as defined by paragraph (2) of Subsection (w) of Section 97212. The hospital shall identify these records by recording a "6" on each of these records as specified in the Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Inpatient Data in Section 97215.

(g) Licensees operating and maintaining more than one physical plant on separate premises under a single consolidated license who choose to file separate data reports for each location must request, in writing, a modification to file separate data reports for each location. A licensee granted a modification under this paragraph shall be responsible for all regulatory requirements for each separate report. Separate extension requests, filed under the provisions of Section 97241, shall be required for each report, and penalties, assessed pursuant to Section 97250, shall be assessed on each delinquent report.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97215.</u> Format.

(a) Hospital Discharge Abstract Data reports for discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2023, shall comply with the Department's Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Inpatient Data Version 5.1 as revised October 2022 and hereby incorporated by reference.

(b) Emergency Care Data reports for encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2023, shall comply with the Department's Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Emergency Care and Ambulatory Surgery Data Version 3.1 as revised October 2022 and hereby incorporated by reference.

(c) Ambulatory Surgery Data reports for encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2023, shall comply with the Department's Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission: Emergency Care and Ambulatory Surgery Data Version 3.1 as revised October 2022 and hereby incorporated by reference.

(d) The Department's Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission as named in (a), (b), and (c) are available for download from the HCAI website. The Department will make a hardcopy of either set of Format and File Specifications for Online Transmission available upon request.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code

<u>97216.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Date of Birth.

(a) For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2017:

(1) For online transmission of data reports as electronic data files, the patient's date of birth shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 4-digit year, the 2-digit month, and the 2-digit day. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(2) For online entry of individual records, the patient's date of birth shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 2-digit month, the 2-digit day, and the 4-digit year. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(3) When the complete date of birth is unknown, as much of the date as is known shall be reported. At a minimum, an approximate year of birth shall be reported. If only the age is known, the estimated year of birth shall be reported and the month and day can be reported as 01 for month and 01 for day.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97217.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Sex.

For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2017, the patient's sex shall be reported as recorded at admission as male, female or unknown. Unknown indicates that the patient's sex was undetermined.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97218.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Race.

(a) Effective with discharges on or after January 1, 2019, the patient's ethnic and racial background shall be reported as one choice from the following list of alternatives under ethnicity and up to five choices from the following list of alternatives under race:

- (1) Ethnicity:
- (A) Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity
- (B) Non Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity
- (C) Unknown
- (2) Race:
- (A) American Indian or Alaska Native
- (B) Asian
- (C) Black or African American
- (D) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
- (E) White

(F) Other Race

(G) Unknown

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97219.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Patient Address.

(a) Effective with discharges on or after January 1, 2023, the patient's address shall be reported. The address shall include the address number and street name, city, state, and ZIP Code. Do not report the address of the hospital. If more than one address is available for the patient, report the address of the patient's usual residence. If exact address is unknown or the patient is experiencing homelessness, provide as much information as possible.

- (1) The address number and street name shall be reported.
- (A) If the address number and/or street name are unknown, leave blank.
- (B) If the address is not part of the United States, leave blank.
- (2) The city shall be reported.
- (A) If the city is unknown, leave blank.
- (B) If the city is not part of the United States, leave blank.
- (3) The state shall be reported using a standard two letter abbreviation.
- (A) If the state is unknown, leave blank.
- (B) If the state is not part of the United States, leave blank.

(4) The ZIP Code shall be reported using the unique code assigned to a specific geographic area by the United States Postal Service.

- (A) If the patient has a 9-digit ZIP Code, only the first five digits shall be reported.
- (B) Unknown ZIP Codes shall be reported as "XXXXX."
- (C) ZIP Codes for persons who do not reside in the U.S. shall be reported as "YYYYY."
- (5) For patients with a non-US residence, report the country.

(6) Indicate whether a patient was experiencing homelessness at the time of admission. This may include chronic, episodic, or transitional homelessness, or in temporary shelter:

(A) Include "Y" for patients experiencing homelessness.

(B) Include "N" for patients not experiencing homelessness.

(C) "U" for Unknown.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735 and 128738, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97220.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Patient Social Security Number.

The patient's social security number is to be reported as a 9-digit number. If the patient's social security number is not recorded in the patient's medical record, the social security number shall be reported as "not in medical record," by reporting the social security number as "000000001." The number to be reported is to be the patient's social security number, not the social security number of some other person, such as the mother of a newborn or the insurance beneficiary under whose account the hospital's bill is to be submitted.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97221.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Admission Date.

(a) For discharges occurring on or after January 2, 2017:

(1) For online transmission of data reports as electronic data files, the patient's admission date shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 4-digit year, the 2-digit month, and the 2-digit day. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(2) For online entry of individual records, the patient's admission date shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 2-digit month, the 2-digit day, and the 4-digit year. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(3) For discharges representing a transfer of a patient from one level of care within the hospital to another level of care within the hospital, as defined by Subsection (w) of Section 97212 and reported pursuant to Section 97212, the admission date reported shall be the date the patient was transferred to the level of care being reported on this record.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97222.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Source of Admission.

(a) Effective with discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2023, in order to describe the patient's source of admission, it is necessary to address two aspects of the source: first, the point of origin for this admission; and second, the route by which the patient was admitted. One alternative shall be selected from the list following each aspect:

(1) The point of patient origin. Use the appropriate code from the list below:

Code Point of Origin for patients with Type of Admission other than "Newborn"

1 Non-Health Care Facility Point of Origin

2	Clinic or Physician's Office
4	Transfer from a Hospital (Different Facility)
5	Transfer from a SNF, ICF, or Assisted Living Facility (ALF)
6	Transfer from another Health Care Facility
8	Court/Law Enforcement
9	Information not Available
D	Transfer from One Distinct Unit of the Hospital to another Distinct Unit of the Same Hospital Resulting in a Separate Claim to the Payer
E	Transfer from Ambulatory Surgery Center
F	Transfer from a Hospice Facility
G	Transfer from a Designated Disaster Alternate Care Site
Code	Point of Origin for patients with Type of Admission "Newborn"
5	Born Inside this Hospital
6	Born Outside of this Hospital

(2) Route of admission.

(A) Your Emergency Department. Any patient admitted as an inpatient after being treated or examined in this hospital's emergency department.

(B) Another Emergency Department. Any patient directly admitted as an inpatient after being transferred from another hospital's emergency department.

(C) Not admitted form an Emergency Department.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97223.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Type of Admission.

Effective with discharges on or after January 1, 2017, the patient's type of admission shall be reported using the appropriate code from the list below:

Code	Type of Admission
1	Emergency
2	Urgent
3	Elective
4	Newborn
5	Trauma
9	Information not available

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97224.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Discharge Date.

(a) For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2017:

(1) For online transmission of data reports as electronic data files, the patient's discharge date shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 4-digit year, the 2-digit month, and the 2-digit day. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(2) For online entry of individual records, the patient's discharge date shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 2-digit month, the 2-digit day, and the 4-digit year. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97225.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Principal Diagnosis and Present on Admission Indicator.

(a) For discharges occurring on and after October 1, 2015: The patient's principal diagnosis, defined as the condition established, after study, to be the chief cause of the admission of the patient to the facility for care, shall be coded according to the ICD-10-CM.

(b) Effective with discharges on or after July 1, 2008, whether the patient's principal diagnosis was present on admission shall be reported as one of the following:

(1) Y. Yes. Condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(2) N. No. Condition was not present at the time of inpatient admission.

(3) U. Unknown. Documentation is insufficient to determine if the condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(4) W. Clinically undetermined. Provider is unable to clinically determine whether the condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(5) (blank) Exempt from present on admission reporting.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97226.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Other Diagnoses and Present on Admission Indicator.

(a) For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2023: The patient's other diagnoses are defined as all conditions that coexist at the time of admission, that develop subsequently during the hospital stay, or that affect the treatment received an/or the length of stay. Diagnoses that relate to an earlier episode that have no bearing on the current hospital stay are to be excluded. Diagnoses shall be coded according to the ICD-10-CM. ICD-10-CM codes from Social Determinants of Health (Z55-Z65) shall be include if they are documented in the medical record.

ICD-10-CM codes from External Causes of Morbidity (V00-Y99) shall not be reported as other diagnoses.

(b) Effective with discharges on or after July 1, 2008, whether the patient's other diagnosis was present on admission shall be reported as one of the following:

(1) Y. Yes. Condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(2) N. No. Condition was not present at the time of inpatient admission.

(3) U. Unknown. Documentation is insufficient to determine if the condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(4) W. Clinically undetermined. Provider is unable to clinically determine whether the condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(5) (blank) Exempt from present on admission reporting.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97227.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – External Causes of Morbidity and Present on Admission Indicator.

(a) For discharges occurring on and after October 1, 2015: The external causes of morbidity shall be coded using the ICD-10-CM External Causes of Morbidity (V00-Y99). The external cause of morbidity that resulted in the injury or health condition shall be listed first. Additional cause of morbidity codes shall be reported if necessary to describe the mechanisms that contributed to, or the causal events surrounding, the injury or health condition.

(b) Effective with discharges on or after July 1, 2008, whether the patient's External Cause of Morbidity was present on admission shall be reported as one of the following:

(1) Y. Yes. Condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(2) N. No. Condition was not present at the time of inpatient admission.

(3) U. Unknown. Documentation is insufficient to determine whether the condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(4) W. Clinically undetermined. Provider is unable to clinically determine whether the condition was present at the time of inpatient admission.

(5) (blank) Exempt from present on admission reporting.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97228.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Principal Procedure and Date.

For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2017: The patient's principal procedure is defined as one that was performed for definitive treatment (rather than one performed for diagnostic or exploratory purposes) or was necessary to take care of a complication. If there appear to be two procedures that are principal, then the one most related to the principal diagnosis should be selected as the principal procedure. Procedures shall be coded according to the ICD-10-PCS. If only non-therapeutic procedures were performed, then a non-therapeutic procedure should be reported as the principal procedure, if it was a significant procedure. A significant procedure is one that is surgical in nature, or carries a procedural risk, or carries an anesthetic risk, or is needed for MS-DRG assignment. The date the principal procedure was performed shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 4-digit year, the 2-digit month, and the 2-digit day. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97229.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Other Procedures and Dates.

For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2017: All significant procedures are to be reported. A significant procedure is one that is surgical in nature, or carries a procedural risk, or carries an anesthetic risk, or is needed for MS-DRG assignment. Procedures shall be coded according to the ICD-10-PCS. The dates shall be recorded with the corresponding other procedures and be reported in numeric form as follows: the 4-digit year, the 2-digit month, and the 2-digit day. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97230.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Total Charges.

The total charges are defined as all charges for services rendered during the length of stay for patient care at the facility, based on the hospital's full established rates. Charges shall include, but not be limited to, daily hospital services, ancillary services and any patient care services. Hospital-based physician fees shall be excluded. Prepayment (e.g. deposits and prepaid admissions) shall not be deducted from Total Charges. If a patient's length of stay is more than 1 year (365 days), report Total Charges for the last year (365 days) of stay only.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97231.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Disposition of Patient. (a) Effective with discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2023, the patient's disposition defined as the consequent arrangement or event ending a patient's stay in the reporting facility, shall be reported using the code for one of the following:

Code	Patient Disposition
01	Discharged to home or self care (routine discharge)
02	Discharged/transferred to a short term general hospital for inpatient care
03-	Discharged/transferred to skilled nursing facility (SNF) with Medicare certification in anticipation of skilled care
04	Discharged/transferred to a facility that provides custodial or supportive care (includes Intermediate Care Facility)
05	Discharged/transferred to a designated cancer center or children's hospital
06	Discharged/transferred to home under care of an organized home health service organization in anticipation of covered skilled care
07	Left against medical advice or discontinued care
20	Expired
21	Discharged/transferred to court/law enforcement
43	Discharged/transferred to a federal health care facility
50	Hospice - Home
51	Hospice - Medical facility (certified) providing hospice level of care
61	Discharged/transferred to a hospital-based Medicare approved swing bed
62	Discharged/transferred to an inpatient rehabilitation facility (IRF) including rehabilitation distinct part units of a hospital
63	Discharged/transferred to a Medicare certified long term care hospital (LTCH)
64	Discharged/transferred to a nursing facility certified under Medicaid (Medi-Cal), but not certified under Medicare
65	Discharged/transferred to a psychiatric hospital or psychiatric distinct part unit of a hospital
66	Discharged/transferred to a Critical Access Hospital (CAH)
69	Discharged/transferred to a Designated Disaster Alternate Care Site
70	Discharged/transferred to another type of health care institution not defined elsewhere in this code list
81	Discharged to home or self care with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
82	Discharged/transferred to a short term general hospital for inpatient care with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
83	Discharged/transferred to a skilled nursing facility (SNF) with Medicare certification with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
84	Discharged/transferred to a facility that provides custodial or supportive care (includes Intermediate Care Facility) with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission

85	Discharged/transferred to a designated cancer center or children's hospital with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
86	Discharged/transferred to home under care of organized home health service organization in anticipation of covered skilled care with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
87	Discharged/Transferred to court/law enforcement with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
88	Discharged/transferred to a federal health care facility with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
89	Discharged/transferred to a hospital-based Medicare approved swing bed with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
90	Discharged/transferred to an inpatient rehabilitation facility (IRF) including rehabilitation distinct part units of a hospital with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
91	Discharged/transferred to a Medicare certified long term care hospital (LTCH) with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
92	Discharged/transferred to a nursing facility certified under Medicaid (Medi-Cal) but not certified under Medicare with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
93	Discharged/transferred to a psychiatric hospital or a psychiatric distinct part unit of a hospital with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
94	Discharged/transferred to a critical access hospital (CAH) with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
95	Discharged/transferred to another type of health care institution not defined elsewhere in this code list with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
00	Other

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97232.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Expected Source of Payment.

Effective with discharges on or after January 1, 1999, the patient's expected source of payment - the entity or organization which is expected to pay or did pay the greatest share of the patient's bill - shall be reported using the following:

(1) Payer Category. Select one of the following:

(A) Medicare. A federally administered third party reimbursement program authorized by Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. Includes crossovers to secondary payers.

(B) Medi-Cal. A state administered third party reimbursement program authorized by Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

(C) Private Coverage. Payment covered by private, non-profit, or commercial health plans, whether insurance or other coverage, or organizations. Included are payments by local or

organized charities, such as the Cerebral Palsy Foundation, Easter Seals, March of Dimes, or Shriners.

(D) Workers' Compensation. Payment from workers' compensation insurance, government or privately sponsored.

(E) County Indigent Programs. Patients covered under Welfare and Institutions Code Section 17000. Includes programs funded in whole or in part by County Medical Services Program (CMSP), California Healthcare for Indigents Program (CHIP), and/or Realignment Funds whether or not a bill is rendered.

(F) Other Government. Any form of payment from government agencies, whether local, state, federal, or foreign, except those in Subsections (1)(A), (1)(B), (1)(D), or (1)(E) of this section. Includes funds received through the California Children Services (CCS), the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed Services (TRICARE), and the Veterans Administration.

(G) Other Indigent. Patients receiving care pursuant to Hill-Burton obligations or who meet the standards for charity care pursuant to the hospital's established charity care policy. Includes indigent patients, except those described in Subsection (1)(E) of this section.

(H) Self Pay. Payment directly by the patient, personal guarantor, relatives, or friends. The greatest share of t

(I) Other Payer. Any third party payment not included in Subsections (1)(A) through (1)(H) of this section. Included are cases where no payment will be required by the facility, such as special research or courtesy patients.

(2) Type of Coverage. For each Payer Category, Subsections (1)(A) through (1)(F) of this section, select one of the following Types of Coverage:

(A) Managed Care - Knox-Keene/Medi-Cal County Organized Health System. Health care service plans, including Health Maintenance Organizations (HMO), licensed by the Department of Managed Health Care under the Knox-Keene Health Care Service Plan Act of 1975. Includes Medi-Cal County Organized Health Systems (COHS).

(B) Managed Care - Other. Health care plans, except those in Subsection (2)(A) of this section, which provide managed care to enrollees through a panel of providers on a pre-negotiated or per diem basis, usually involving utilization review. Includes Preferred Provider Organization (PPO), Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO), and Point of Service (POS).

(C) Traditional Coverage. All other forms of health care coverage, including the Medicare prospective payment system, indemnity or fee-for-service plans, or other fee-for-service payers.

(3) Health Plan Identification Number. If Type of Coverage is reported as category (A) above, report the specific plan providing coverage by listing the four digit health plan identification number assigned by the California Department of Managed Health Care (DMHC). If Type of Coverage is reported as category (A) above and if the health plan has a pending Knox-Keene license application with DMHC or if the health plan is a COHS that does not have a DMHC assigned number, the four digit health plan identification number shall be reported as 8000.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97233.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Prehospital Care and Resuscitation. Effective with discharges on or after January 1, 1999, information about resuscitation orders in a patient's current medical record shall be reported as follows:

(a) Yes, a DNR order was written at the time of or within the first 24 hours of the patient's admission to the hospital.

(b) No, a DNR order was not written at the time of or within the first 24 hours of the patient's admission to the hospital.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97234.</u> Definition of Data Element for Inpatients – Preferred Language Spoken.

Effective with discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2011, the patient's preferred language spoken shall be reported using one of the following three alternatives:

(a) If the patient's preferred language spoken is known and is included in the following list of alternatives, report the three letter code from the list:

ENG - English
AMH - Amharic
ARA - Arabic
ARM - Armenian
YUE - Cantonese (Yue Chinese)
CHI - Chinese
HRV - Croatian
PES - Farsi
FRE - French
CPF - French Creole
GER - German
GRE - Greek
GUJ - Gujarati
HEB - Hebrew
HIN - Hindi
HMN - Hmong
HUN - Hungarian
ILO - Ilocano (Iloko)
IND - Indonesian
ITA - Italian

JPN - Japanese
KOR - Korean
LAO - Lao
CMN - Mandarin
IUM - Mien (Iu Mien)
MKH - Mon-Khmer
NAV - Navajo
PAN - Panjabi (Punjabi)
PER - Persian
POL - Polish
POR - Portuguese
RUS - Russian
SMO - Samoan
SRP - Serbian
SGN - Sign Language
SPA - Spanish
SWA - Swahili
TGL - Tagalog
TEL - Telugu
THA - Thai
TON - Tonga
UKR - Ukrainian
URD - Urdu
VIE - Vietnamese
YID - Yiddish
YOR - Yoruba

(b) If the preferred language spoken is known, but is not listed in subsection (a), report the full name of the language.

(c) If the preferred language spoken is unknown, report the three digit code 999.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128735, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97240.</u> Request for Modifications to Patient Data Reporting.

(a) Reporting facilities may file a request with the Department for modifications to Hospital Discharge Abstract Data, Emergency Care Data, or Ambulatory Surgery Data reporting requirements. The modification request shall be supported by a detailed justification of the hardship that full reporting of data would have on the reporting facility; an explanation of attempts to meet data reporting requirements; and a description of any other factors that might justify a modification. Modifications may be approved for no more than one year. Modifications

to the data reporting requirements must be approved before data to which they apply will be accepted. Any modifications to reporting requirements are subject to disclosure to data users.

(b) In determining whether a modification to data reporting requirements will be approved, the Department shall consider the information provided pursuant to subsection (a) and evaluate whether the requested modifications would impair the Department's ability to process the data or interfere with the purposes of the data reporting programs under the Act.

(c) Reporting facilities that did not have any discharges or encounters that are required to be reported pursuant to Section 97213(a) for a specific report period must inform the Office by using the No Data to Report screen available in the Department's online submission system or by submitting a completed No Data to Report form (HCAI-OIS-772 Rev. August 2023). The information must be submitted on or before the required due date of the report period.

(d) Any facility that is not licensed to provide inpatient care, or does not provide Emergency Care encounters, or does not provide outpatient procedures, or is not licensed as a surgical clinic, and from whom such reporting is not therefore expected, is not required to file a No Data to Report form.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 128760 and 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736, 128737 and 128760, Health and Safety Code.

97241. Extensions of Time to File Reports.

(a) Extensions are available to reporting facilities that are unable to complete the submission of reports by the due date prescribed in Section 97211.

(1) Requests for extension shall be filed on or before the required due date of the report by using the extension request screen available through the Department's online submission system or by using the Patient Data Reporting Extension Request form (HCAI-OIS-770 Rev. August 2023). Notices regarding the use of extension days, and new due dates, as well as notices of approval and rejection, will be e-mailed to the primary contact and Facility Administrator e-mail addresses provided by the facility, and other users as requested by the facility.

(2) The Department shall respond within 5 days of receipt of the request by either granting what is determined to be a reasonable extension or disapproving the request. The Department shall not grant extensions that exceed the maximum number of days available for the report period for all extensions. If a reporting facility submits the report prior to the due date of an extension, those days not used will be applied to the number of remaining extension days. A reporting facility that wishes to contest any decision of the Department shall have the right to appeal, pursuant to Section 97052.

(b) A maximum of 14 extension days will be allowed for all extensions and resubmittals of reports with discharges or encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2005.

(c) If a report is rejected on, or within 7 days before, or at any time after, any due date established by Subsections (c), or (d), of Section 97211, the Department shall grant, if available,

an extension of 7 days. If less than 7 days are available all available extension days will be granted.

(d) If the Department determines that the Department's online submission system was unavailable for data submission for one or more periods of 4 or more continuous supported hours during the 4 State working days before a due date established pursuant to Section 97211, the Department shall extend the due date by 7 days.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Section 128770, Health and Safety Code.

97244. Method of Submission.

(a) For discharges and encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2021, reporting facilities shall use the Department's online submission system known as SIERA for submitting reports through either:

(1) Online transmission of data reports as electronic data files, or

(2) Online entry of individual records.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128755, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

97245. Online Test Option.

Reports may be tested before formal submission to the Department using the online test option. Online testing of the format and reports through the online test option, before formal transmission, is the recommended means of ensuring compliant data that meets the standards established by the Department before the due date. Reports tested through the online test option will be subject to the same processing and will generate the same reports as data that is formally submitted. The format and reports may be tested through the test option as many times as needed to assure that the reports meet the standards established by the Department in Section 97247.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128755, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

97246. Data Transmittal Requirements.

(a) Data shall be submitted using the Department's online submission system to file or submit each report. The following information must be included: the facility name, the unique identification number specified in Section 97210, the beginning and ending dates of the report period, the number of records in the report and the following statement of certification:

I certify under penalty of perjury that I am an official of this facility and am duly authorized to submit these data; and that, to the extent of my knowledge and information, the accompanying records are true and correct, and that the applicable definitions of the data elements as set forth in Article 8 (Patient Data Reporting Requirements) of Chapter 10 (Health Facility Data) of Division 7 of Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations, have been followed by this facility.

(b) Reporting facilities with an approved exemption to submit records using a method other than the Department's online submission system must submit the following information: facility name, the unique identification number specified in Section 97210, the data type of the report, the report period of the records submitted, the number of records in the report, the medium of accompanying records, the certification language as provided in (a) above, with a signature of the authorized representative of the facility and contact information. The information shall accompany the report.

(c) A facility's administrator may designate User Account Administrators. For each User Account Administrator there must be a signed facility User Account Administrator Agreement form (HCAI-OIS-773 Rev. August 2023), hereby incorporated by reference, submitted to the Department.

(d) Forms may be obtained from the Department of Health Care Access and Information web site at www.hcai.ca.gov or by contacting the Department's Patient Data Program at (916) 326-3935

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

97247. Approval Criteria.

(a) The following requirements must be met for a report to be approved by the Department:

(1) Complete transmittal information must be submitted with each report.

(2) The facility identification number stated in the transmittal information must be consistent with the facility identification number on each of the records in the report.

(3) The report period stated in the transmittal information must be consistent with all of the records in the report.

(4) The number of records stated in the transmittal information must be consistent with the number of records contained in the report.

(5) All records required to be reported pursuant to 97213(a) must be reported.

(6) The data must be reported in compliance with the format specifications in Section 97215.

(7) For report periods beginning on or after January 1, 2015, all records must contain a valid Principal Diagnosis.

(8) The data must be at, or below, the Error Tolerance Level specified in Section 97248.

(9) The data must be consistent with the reporting facility's anticipated trends and comparisons, except as in (A) below:

(A) If data are correctly reported and yet fail to meet approval criteria due to inconsistency with the reporting facility's anticipated trends and comparisons, the reporting facility may submit to the Department, in writing, a detailed explanation of why the data are correct as reported. The Department may determine, upon review of a written explanation, that it will approve a report.

(10) Each report must contain only one type of record as specified in Subsections (1), (2), and (3) of Subsection (a) of Section 97213.

(b) The Department shall approve or reject each report within 15 days of receiving it. The report shall be considered not filed as of the date that the facility is notified that the report is rejected. Notification of approval or rejection of any report submitted online shall not take more than 15 days unless there is a documented HCAI report submission system failure.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 128810 and 128755, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97248.</u> Error Tolerance Level.

(a) The Error Tolerance Level (ETL) for data reported to the Department shall be no more than 2%. Errors as defined in Subsection (i) of Section 97212, must be corrected to the ETL.

(b) For discharges occurring on and after January 1, 2015: For hospital discharge abstract data reports that do not exceed the Error Tolerance Level specified in Subsection (a) of this Section, defaults will be as shown in Table 1.

Table 1: Hospital Discharge Abstract Data Record Defaults

Invalid Data Element	Default
Admission date	delete record
All other data elements	blank or zero

(c) For encounters occurring on and after January 1, 2015: For emergency care data reports that do not exceed the Error Tolerance Level specified in Subsection (a) of this Section, defaults will be as shown in Table 2.

Invalid Data Element	Default
Service date	delete record
All other data elements	blank or zero

(d) For encounters occurring on and after January 1, 2015: For ambulatory surgery data reports that do not exceed the Error Tolerance Level specified in Subsection (a) of this Section, defaults will be as shown in Table 3.

Table 3: Ambulatory Surgery Data Record Defaults

Invalid Data Element	Default
Service date	delete record
All other data elements	blank or zero

Note: Authority cited: Section 128755, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

97249. Hours of Operation.

The Department's online submission system will be supported from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (except for Official State Holidays). System maintenance may cause intermittent unavailability. Contact the Patient Data Program at (916) 326-3935 to report possible transmission problems.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128755, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

97250. Failure to File a Data Report.

Any health facility which does not file any report completed as required by this article is liable for a civil penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100) a day to be assessed and recovered in a civil action brought in the name of the people of the State of California by the Department for each day that the filing of the report is delayed, considering all approved extensions of the due date as provided in Section 97241. Assessed penalties may be appealed pursuant to Section 97052. Within fifteen days after the date the reports are due, the Department shall notify the health facility of reports not yet received, the amount of the liability, and potential future liability for failure to file reports when due. Sixty days after an original report due date as specified in Section 97211(c), the Department's online submission system will close for that report period. No report for the period will be accepted after the system closure. No additional penalties will accrue for outstanding reports after the system closure for a report period.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128735, 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97251.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Date of Birth.

(a) For online transmission of data reports as electronic data files, the patient's date of birth shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 4-digit year, the 2-digit month, and the 2-digit day. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(b) For online entry of individual records, the patient's date of birth shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 2-digit month, the 2-digit day, and the 4-digit year. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(c) When the complete date of birth is unknown, as much of the date as is known shall be reported. At a minimum, an approximate year of birth shall be reported. If only the age is known, the estimated year of birth shall be reported and the month and day can be reported as 01 for month and 01 for day.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97252.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Sex.

The patient's sex shall be reported as male, female or unknown. Unknown indicates that the patient's sex was undetermined or not available from the medical record.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97253.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Race.

(a) Effective with encounters occurring on and after January 1, 2019, the race shall be as self-reported by the patient or patient's guardian in cases where the patient is not capable of providing the information. The patient's race shall be reported as up to five choices from the following list of alternatives:

- (1) American Indian or Alaska Native
- (2) Asian
- (3) Black of African American
- (4) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
- (5) White
- (6) Other Race
- (7) Unknown

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97254.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Ethnicity.

The ethnicity shall be as self-reported by the patient or patient's guardian in cases where the patient is not capable of providing the information. The patient's ethnicity shall be reported as one choice from the following list of alternatives:

- (a) Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity
- (b) Non Hispanic or Latino Ethnicity
- (c) Unknown

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97255.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Patient Address.

(a) Effective with encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2023, the patient's address shall be reported. The address shall include the address number and street name, city, state, and ZIP Code. Do not report the address of the hospital. If more than one address is available for the patient, report the address of the patient's usual residence. If exact address is unknown or the patient is experiencing homelessness, provide as much information as possible.

(1) The address number and street name shall be reported.

- (A) If the address number and/or street name are unknown, leave blank.
- (B) If the address number and street name are not part of the United States, leave blank.
- (2) The city shall be reported.
- (A) If the city of residence is unknown, leave blank.
- (B) If the city of residence is not part of the United States, leave blank.
- (3) The state shall be reported using the two letter abbreviation.
- (A) If the state of residence is unknown, leave blank.

(B) If the state of residence is not part of the United States, leave blank.

(4) The ZIP Code shall be reported using the unique code assigned to a specific geographic area by the United States Postal Service.

(A) If the patient has a 9-digit ZIP Code, only the first five digits shall be reported.

- (B) Unknown ZIP Codes shall be reported as "XXXXX."
- (C) ZIP Codes for persons who do not reside in the U.S. shall be reported as "YYYYY."
- (5) For patients with a non-US residence, report the country.

(6) Indicate whether a patient was experiencing homelessness at the time of admission. This may include chronic, episodic, transitional homelessness, or in temporary shelter:

- (A) Include "Y" for patients experiencing homelessness.
- (B) Include "N" for patients not experiencing homelessness.
- (C) "U" for Unknown.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736, 128737 and 128738, Heath and Safety Code.

<u>97256.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Patient Social Security Number.

The patient's social security number is to be reported as a 9-digit number. If the patient's social security number is not recorded in the patient's medical record, the social security number shall be reported as "not in medical record," by reporting the social security number as "000000001." The number to be reported is to be the patient's social security number, not the social security number of some other person, such as the mother of a newborn or the insurance beneficiary under whose account the hospital's bill is to be submitted.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97257.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Service Date.

(a) For online transmission of data reports as electronic data files, the patient's service date shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 4-digit year, the 2-digit month, and the 2-digit day. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

(b) For online entry of individual records, the patient's service date shall be reported in numeric form as follows: the 2-digit month, the 2-digit day, and the 4-digit year. The numeric form for days and months from 1 to 9 must have a zero as the first digit.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97258.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Principal Diagnosis.

(a) For encounters occurring on and after October 1, 2015: The patient's principal diagnosis, defined as the condition, problem, or other reason established to be the chief cause of the encounter for care, shall be coded according to the ICD-10-CM.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97259.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Other Diagnoses.

(a) For encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2023: The patient's other diagnoses are defined as all conditions that coexist at the time of the encounter for emergency or ambulatory surgery care, that develop subsequently during the encounter, or that affect the treatment received. ICD-10-CM Social Determinants of Health shall be included if they are documented in the medical record. Diagnoses shall be coded according to the ICD-10-CM. ICD-10-CM codes from External Causes of Morbidity (V00-Y99) shall not be reported as other diagnoses.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97260.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – External Causes of Morbidity.

(a) For encounters occurring on and after October 1, 2015: The external causes of morbidity shall be coded according to the ICD-10-CM External Causes of Morbidity (V00-Y99). The external cause of morbidity that resulted in the injury or health condition shall be listed first.

Additional cause of morbidity codes shall be reported if necessary to describe the mechanisms that contributed to, or the causal events surrounding, the injury or health condition.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97262.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Principal Procedure.

The patient's principal procedure is one that is surgical in nature, or carries a procedural risk, or carries an anesthetic risk. The procedure related to the principal diagnosis, as the chief reason for the encounter, shall be selected as the principal procedure. The procedure shall be coded according to the Current Procedural Terminology, Fourth Edition (CPT-4).

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97263.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Other Procedures.

All significant procedures are to be reported. A significant procedure is one that is surgical in nature, or carries a procedural risk, or carries an anesthetic risk. Procedures shall be coded according to the Current Procedural Terminology, Fourth Edition (CPT-4).

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97264.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Disposition of Patient.

(a) The patient's disposition, defined as the consequent arrangement or event ending a patient's encounter in the reporting facility, shall be reported as one of the following for encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2023:

Code	Patient Disposition
01	Discharged to home or self care (routine discharge)
02	Discharged/transferred to a short term general hospital for inpatient care
03	Discharged/transferred to skilled nursing facility (SNF) with Medicare certification in anticipation of skilled care
04	Discharged/transferred to a facility that provides custodial or supportive care (includes Intermediate Care Facility)
05	Discharged/transferred to a designated cancer center or children's hospital
06	Discharged/transferred to home under care of an organized home health service organization in anticipation of covered skilled care
07	Left against medical advice or discontinued care
20	Expired
21	Discharged/transferred to court/law enforcement
43	Discharged/transferred to a federal health care facility
50	Hospice - Home
51	Hospice - Medical facility (certified) providing hospice level of care
61	Discharged/transferred to a hospital-based Medicare approved swing bed

62	Discharged/transferred to an inpatient rehabilitation facility (IRF) including rehabilitation distinct part units of a hospital
63	Discharged/transferred to a Medicare certified long term care hospital (LTCH)
64	Discharged/transferred to a nursing facility certified under Medicaid (Medi-Cal), but not certified under Medicare
65	Discharged/transferred to a psychiatric hospital or psychiatric distinct part unit of a hospital
66	Discharged/transferred to a Critical Access Hospital (CAH)
69	Discharged/transferred to a Designated Disaster Alternate Care Site
70	Discharged/transferred to another type of health care institution not defined elsewhere in this code list
81	Discharged to home or self care with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
82	Discharged/transferred to a short term general hospital for inpatient care with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
83	Discharged/transferred to a skilled nursing facility (SNF) with Medicare certification with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
84	Discharged/transferred to a facility that provides custodial or supportive care (includes Intermediate Care Facility) with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
85	Discharged/transferred to a designated cancer center or children's hospital with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
86	Discharged/transferred to home under care of organized home health service organization in anticipation of covered skilled care with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
87	Discharged/Transferred to court/law enforcement with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
88	Discharged/transferred to a federal health care facility with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
89	Discharged/transferred to a hospital-based Medicare approved swing bed with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
90	Discharged/transferred to an inpatient rehabilitation facility (IRF) including rehabilitation distinct part units of a hospital with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
91	Discharged/transferred to a Medicare certified long term care hospital (LTCH) with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
92	Discharged/transferred to a nursing facility certified under Medicaid (Medi-Cal) but not certified under Medicare with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
93	Discharged/transferred to a psychiatric hospital or a psychiatric distinct part unit of a hospital with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
94	Discharged/transferred to a critical access hospital (CAH) with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission

	Discharged/transferred to another type of health care institution not defined elsewhere in this code list with a planned acute care hospital inpatient readmission
00	Other

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97265.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Expected Source of Payment.

The patient's expected source of payment, defined as the type of entity or organization which is expected to pay or did pay the greatest share of the patient's bill, shall be reported using the following categories:

(a) Self-pay. Payment directly by the patient, guarantor, relatives or friends. The greatest share of the patient's bill is not expected to be paid by any form of insurance or other third party.

(b) Other Non-Federal Programs. Include any form of payment from local, county, or state government agencies. Include payments from county funds, whether from county general funds or from other funds used to support county health programs. Include County Indigent Programs, County Medical Services Program (CMSP), California Healthcare for Indigent Program (CHIP), County Children's Health Initiative Program (C-CHIP), and Short-Doyle funds. Also include the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), Managed Risk Medical Insurance Board (MRMIB), Healthy Families Program (HFP), and Access for Infants and Mothers (AIM).

(c) Preferred Provider Organization (PPO).

- (d) Point of Service (POS).
- (e) Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO).

(f) Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Medicare Risk. Medicare is defined by Title XVIII of the Social Security Act (42 USC 1395 et seq.) and Title I of the Federal Medicare Act (PL 89-97). Include Medicare patients covered under an HMO arrangement.

(g) Automobile Medical. Include PPO, POS, EPO, HMO and Fee for Service or any other payment resulting from automobile coverage.

(h) Blue Cross/Blue Shield. Include only Fee for Service payments. Report PPO, POS, EPO, and HMO under the appropriate stated categories.

(i) CHAMPUS (TRICARE). Include any PPO, POS, EPO, HMO, Fee for Service, or other payment from the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed Services or from TRICARE.

(j) Commercial Insurance Company. Report payment from insurance carriers on a Fee for Service basis. Exclude PPO, POS, and EPO, payments.

(k) Disability.

(I) Health Maintenance Organization (HMO). Report HMO payors. Include Knox-Keene licensed plans as well as out of State HMO plans. No Plan Code Number or Plan Code Name is required for ED or AS records. Report Medicare payments covered under an HMO arrangement as Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Medicare Risk. Report Medi-Cal payments covered under an HMO arrangement as Medicaid.

(m) Medicare Part A. Defined by Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. Covers inpatient hospital stays, care in a skilled nursing facility, hospice care, and some home health care.

(n) Medicare Part B. Defined by Title XVIII of the Social Security Act. Covers some outpatient hospital care and some home health services.

(o) Medicaid. Medicaid is called Medi-Cal in California. Defined by Title XIX of the Social Security Act and Title I of the Federal Medicare Act (PL 89-97). Report all Medi-Cal including Fee for Service, PPO, POS, EPO, and HMO.

(p) Other Federal Program. Report federal programs not covered by any other category.

(q) Title V. Defined by the Federal Medicare Act (PL 89-97) for Maternal and Child Health. Title V of the Social Security Act is administered by the Health Resources and Services
Administration, Public Health Service, Department of Health and Human Services. Include a Maternal and Child Health program payment that is not covered under Medicaid (Medi-Cal).
California Children Services (CCS) payments should be reported here.

(r) Veterans Affairs Plan. Include any PPO, POS, EPO, HMO, Fee for Service, or other payment resulting from Veterans Administration coverage.

(s) Workers' Compensation Health Claim. Payment from Workers' Compensation Health Claim insurance should be reported under this category.

(t) Other. Include payment by governments of other countries. Include payment by local or organized charities, such as the Cerebral Palsy Foundation, Easter Seals, March of Dimes, Shriners, etc. Include payments not listed in other categories.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97266.</u> Freestanding Ambulatory Surgery Encounter Fee Assessment.

(a) The Department shall mail an annual notice of special fee assessment, as provided in Section 90417, and a remittance advice form to each freestanding ambulatory surgery clinic. The annual notice of special fee assessment and remittance advice form shall be mailed at least 20 days before the fee due date. The remittance advice form shall be completed by each surgical clinic and returned to the Department with full payment of the special fee amount. The fee shall be due on July 1st and delinquent on July 31st of each year. The basis of assessment

is the number of ambulatory surgery data records submitted to the Department for encounters in the preceding calendar year.

(b) New surgical clinics which had no encounters in the previous calendar year are not liable for the initial special fee.

(c) New surgical clinics that have been operating for less than 12 months in the previous calendar year are liable for the special fee based on the number of ambulatory surgery data records submitted to the Department for encounters during the period of their licensed operations in the previous calendar year.

(d) Where there was a change in licensee during the prior calendar year, the current licensee shall be assessed a special fee based on the number of ambulatory surgery data records submitted to the Department for encounters that occurred during the time of their licensure.

(e) The Department shall determine the basis of assessment for special fee amounts due from surgical clinics in those circumstances not specifically covered above.

(f) To enforce payment of delinquent special fees, the Department shall notify the State Department of Health Services not to issue a license and not to renew the existing license of the delinquent surgical clinic until the special fees have been paid, pursuant to Section 127280, Health and Safety Code. A copy of the Department notice to the State Department of Health Services shall be sent to the delinquent surgical clinic.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 127150, 127280 and 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 127280 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97267.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Preferred Language Spoken.

Effective with encounters occurring on or after January 1, 2011, the patient's preferred language spoken shall be reported using one of the following three alternatives:

(a) If the patient's preferred language spoken is known and is included in the following list of alternatives, report the code from the list:

ENG - English
AMH - Amharic
ARA - Arabic
ARM - Armenian
YUE - Cantonese (Yue Chinese)
CHI - Chinese
HRV - Croatian
PES - Farsi
FRE - French
CPF - French Creole
GER - German

CDE Creak
GRE - Greek
GUJ - Gujarati
HEB - Hebrew
HIN - Hindi
HMN - Hmong
HUN - Hungarian
ILO - Ilocano (Iloko)
IND - Indonesian
ITA - Italian
JPN - Japanese
KOR - Korean
LAO - Lao
CMN - Mandarin
IUM - Mien (Iu Mien)
MKH - Mon-Khmer
NAV - Navajo
PAN - Panjabi (Punjabi)
PER - Persian
POL - Polish
POR - Portuguese
RUS - Russian
SMO - Samoan
SRP - Serbian
SGN - Sign Language
SPA - Spanish
SWA - Swahili
TGL - Tagalog
TEL - Telugu
THA - Thai
TON - Tonga
UKR - Ukrainian
URD - Urdu
VIE - Vietnamese
YID - Yiddish
YOR - Yoruba

(b) If the preferred language spoken is known, but is not listed in subsection (a), report the full name of the language.

(c) If the preferred language spoken is unknown, report the three digit code 999.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736 and 128737, Health and Safety Code.

<u>97268.</u> Definition of Data Element for ED and AS – Total Charges.

Total Charges is defined as all charges for services rendered during the encounter for patient care at the facility, based on the facility's full established rates. Charges shall include, but not be limited to, ancillary services and any patient care services. Physician fees shall be excluded. Prepayment (e.g. deposits and prepayments) shall not be deducted from Total Charges.

Note: Authority cited: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 128736, 128737 and 128738, Health and Safety Code.