## WEEKEND AND HOLIDAY DUE DATES.....What You Need To Know

1) When a due date falls on a weekend or a State of California observed holiday, is the due date changed?

No. The data report or extension request is due on or before the due date, but submissions (data report or extension) made on the <u>first</u> business day following a weekend or holiday due date will not result in a penalty.

2) If data are due on a weekend or a State of California observed holiday and are officially submitted and <u>rejected</u> by the <u>first</u> business day following the due date, will a penalty be assessed?

## a) If a hospital has extension days available:

No. A penalty will not be assessed. Automatic extension days will be granted (up to seven depending on the number of available days) from the day of rejection.

## b) If a hospital has used all of its extension days:

Yes. A penalty will be assessed for each day after the due date to (include) the actual date submitted. The penalty will accrue until the data is officially submitted and <u>approved</u>. A 'test' submission does not result in an official approval of data.

3) What happens if a due date is on a weekend or a State of California observed holiday but neither an official data submission nor an extension request (hospital has extension days available to request) is submitted by the first business day following the due date?

A penalty will be assessed for each day after the due date to (include) the actual date submitted. The penalty will accrue until an extension request is submitted or the data is officially submitted and <u>approved</u>. A 'test' submission does not result in an official approval of data.

Example: If data are due on Saturday and the hospital officially submits its data and is approved (or submits an extension) on Tuesday, penalties will be assessed based on the Saturday due date. A penalty of \$100 a day will be assessed for Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday (\$300).